Four running for Blooming Grove supervisor

Voters in Blooming Grove will have several choices to make this election season.

First and foremost is selecting the next person to run their town, for which they will have four options. Current Supervisor Frank Fornario is stepping down at the end of this year.

Deputy Supervisor Brandon Nielsen will face off against Kathy Wells-Calhoun for the nod in September’s Republican primary. On the Democratic side, former town councilman Joseph Zippilli will square off against economist Robert Fromaget, a frequent critic of County Executive Ed Diana’s push to demolish the Orange County Government Center.

Four newcomers will also be running for two spots on the Blooming Grove town board.

Goshen’s lone contested race will be for the town board positions, where two incumbents and a newcomer vie for two slots.

There are no contested races in the Town of Chester, though a victory by current republican Supervisor Steve Neuhaus in the county executive’s race will create a vacancy for the town’s top job.

The Village of Chester will have elections for a mayor, justice and two trustee positions, though petitions don’t need to be filed with the county board of elections for those races until Aug. 20.

Primaries will be held Sept. 10 only for the positions where there are more candidates than open slots on a party line. The two exceptions are for the conservative line in the Blooming Grove supervisor and highway superintendent contests, where a write-in bid will be accepted against the sole party nominees.

Blooming Grove


Kathy Wells-Calhoun R, I, C

Brandon Nielsen R

Robert Fromaget D, WF

Joseph Zippilli D

CouncilmanĀ (two vacancies)

George Kydon R, I, C

Ronald Jurain R, C

Thomas Murray R

Johanna Kiernan D, WF

Janette McKay D, WF

Highway Superintendent

Sal Amante R, C*

John Dolson R, I*

Ralph Bisquert D, WF


Darlena Decker-Geyer R, I, C*


Christopher Turpin R, C*

Receiver of Taxes

Joan Kelly R, C*



Douglas Bloomfield R, I, C*

Councilman (two vacancies)

George Lyons R, I, C*

Kenneth Newbold D, C*

Theresa Makuen R, I


Valma Eisma R, I, C*

Receiver of Taxes

Judith Andrews R, I, C*

Highway Superintendent

Broderick Knoell R, I, C*


Councilman (two vacancies)

Jerry Murray R, I, C*

Robert Valentine R, I, C


Elizabeth Reilly R, I, C*


Sharon Worthy-Spiegl R, I C

Receiver of Taxes

Vincent Maniscalco R, I, C*



*Denotes incumbent

R = Republican

D = Democrat

I = Independence Party

C = Conservative Party

WF = Working Families Party

This entry was posted in Orange. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Authors

    Chris McKenna

    Chris McKenna covers Orange County government and politics for the Times Herald-Record. He has been a reporter at the newspaper since 1999. Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives