‘Disloyal’ City of Newburgh Dems regain committee seats

Every Newburgh Democratic Committee member who sought reelection after being ousted on “disloyalty” charges for supporting Judy Kennedy after she lost a primary to committee Chairman Jonathan Jacobson in last year’s mayoral campaign regained seats on Tuesday.

Kippy Boyle, Mark Carnes, Lisa Daily, Deborah Danzy and Brian Flannery were all reelected to the committee. Four other accused disloyalists – Karen Eberle-McCarthy, Benilda Jones, Mary Elin Korchinsky and Ramona Monteverde – were also victorious.

Those incensed by Jacobson’s decision to oust Kennedy supporters, and by his leadership style, hold a majority in number of seats and in weighted voting, the process by which the chair is elected, according to Daily.

“I think the public is more aware, and the public has spoken,” Daily said. “This idea of being thrown out brought out the unfairness of the situation.”

Jacobson filed the disloyalty charges in January, two months after he lost to Kennedy in their general-election battle for mayor. Despite losing the Democratic primary, Kennedy carried the Independence Party line in November and defeated Jacobson in their rematch.

Kennedy supporters had accused Jacobson of being disloyal because he challenged an incumbent Democratic mayor.

Newburgh Councilwoman Karen Mejia was among those targeted for ouster, but she chose to resign from the committee and not seek reelection.

“Under Mr. Jacobson’s leadership the democratic committee in the City of Newburgh has been completely dysfunctional,” she wrote in May when announcing her resignation.

On Wednesday, Jacobson said he has been the target of “smears and misinformation” and plans to work with every member of the committee “so long as they fulfill the mission of the Democratic Party … which is to elect Democrats.”

As far as the committee chair’s seat, he plans to let the math decide.

“I’ll look at the numbers and if it appears that I’m not going to win, I’m not going to put my name up,” he said.

Among the other winners in the committee races on Tuesday were Kennedy and Jacobson. Councilwomen Cindy Holmes and Hillary Rayford also won, while Councilwoman Regina Angelo lost.

This entry was posted in Orange and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives