Four new mid-Hudson lawmakers start work in Albany

Four new state senators and Assembly members representing parts of Orange, Ulster and Sullivan counties took their seats in Albany on Wednesday at the start of a legislative session with a large turnover in the region’s delegation.

Democratic senators James Skoufis and Jen Metzger filled the seats long held by Republicans Bill Larkin and John Bonacic, both of whom retired in December. Skoufis, who represents the 39th Senate District, and Metzger, who represents the 42nd District, were elected in a Democratic wave in November that flipped eight seats and gave their party a strong majority in a chamber Republicans have ruled for most of the last half-century.

In the Assembly, Colin Schmitt, a New Windsor Republican, moved into the 99th Assembly District seat that Skoufis vacated after three terms to run for Senate; and Jonathan Jacobson, a former Orange County Democratic chairman who had been serving as a Newburgh city councilman, claimed the 104th District seat of the late Frank Skartados, who died last year.

The six returning senators and Assembly members with piece of Orange, Ulster and Sullivan counties in the districts are: Sen. James Seward, R-Milford, and  Sen. George Amedore, R-Rotterdam, both of whom represent parts of Ulster County; Assemblyman Karl Brabenec, R-Deerpark; Assemblywoman Aileen Gunther, D-Forestburgh; Assemblyman Kevin Cahill, D-Kingston; and Assemblyman Brian Miller, R-New Hartford.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives