Skoufis aces report card for environmental bills

State Sen. James Skoufis had a perfect score on the latest report card by the New York League of Conservation Voters, an annual analysis by the environmental group on how all 213 state lawmakers voted on bills it was following in the last session in Albany.

Skoufis, a Woodbury Democrat, voted the group’s preferred way on all 16 Senate bills they tracked for the rankings in the 2019 session, which ran from January to June. Most were proposals that the NYLCV supported for environmental reasons, such as the state’s ambitious new goals for slashing carbon emissions and a prohibition on offshore drilling.

Skoufis, in a statement touting his score, pointed out that he introduced one of the bills the group was highlighting, which will require the state to maintain and make public a 20-year plan for its transportation improvements. He also noted he was part of a small group of legislators that helped develop the climate change plan.

“I am and will always be committed to fighting for the future of our environment,” Skoufis said. “Environmental issues encompass almost every other issue that affects New Yorkers each day. Not only as a coastal state but as a duty to all generations, as we move forward, we must prioritize environmental policy first and foremost. I thank the League of Conservation Voters for holding legislators accountable and continuing to strive for a safe and healthy environment for all.” 

Many other Democrats, though not nearly all, also scored 100 percent, while most Republicans voted against several of the bills and scored much lower, as low as 22 percent and 33 percent in a few cases. Here are how the other nine senators and Assembly members representing pieces of Orange, Ulster and Sullivan counties fared on the report card:

Sen. Jen Metzger, D-Rosendale: 94 percent

Sen. James Seward, R-Milford: 61 percent

Sen. George Amedore, R-Rotterdam: 44 percent

Assemblyman Jonathan Jacobson, D-City of Newburgh: 72 percent

Assemblyman Kevin Cahill, D-Kingston: 78 percent

Assemblyman Brian Miller, R-New Hartford: 50 percent

Assemblywoman Aileen Gunther, D-Foretburgh: 83 percent

Assemblyman Colin Schmitt, R-New Windsor: 67 percent

Assemblyman Karl Brabenec, R-Deerpark: 44 percent

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives