Candidates file petitions to meet deadline moved up by coronavirus outbreak

Candidates running for Congress and state Legislature in New York rushed their petitions to the state Board of Elections by Friday to meet a deadline that was sped up by almost two weeks to shut down all door-to-door activity as the coronavirus spreads.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo had slashed the number of signatures they needed by executive order so they could meet the threshold with less time. New York has faced mounting restrictions to slow the transmission of COVID-19 and will begin an even stricter period on Sunday with people told to stay home except for essential activities.

But the candidates or their party members managed to gather the signatures they needed by Friday’s deadline. The looming contests triggered by those filings include a Republican congressional primary on June 23 between Kyle Van De Water and Ola Hawatmeh, who are vying to challenge Democratic Rep. Antonio for the 19th District, which includes Ulster and Sullivan counties.

Another primary on that date will be a Democratic contest between Michelle Hinchey and Gary Greenberg for the 46th state Senate District, which includes part of Ulster County.

Two of the lawmakers representing parts of Orange, Ulster and Sullivan counties appear to be getting a pass from the opposition this year, unless the Board of Elections has some last-minute petitions it didn’t post or a challenger later files an independent petition.

The unopposed candidates are Assemblywoman Aileen Gunther, D-Forestburgh, and Assemblyman Karl Brabenec, R-Deerpark.

Below are the candidates whose petitions – usually for more than party – were filed and posted by Friday night. (Party initials: D-Democrat; R-Republican; C-Conservative; WF-Working Families; L-Libertarian; I-Independence; SAM- Serve America Movement)

18th Congressional District

Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney, D-Cold Spring: D, I

Chele Chiavacci Farley: R, C, L

Scott Smith: L, SAM

19th Congressional District

Rep. Antonio Delgado, D-Rhinebeck: D, WF, I, SAM

Kyle Van De Water: R, C, I

Ola Hawatmeh: R, C

Steven Greenfield: G

39th Senate District

Sen. James Skoufis, D-Cornwall: D, WF, SAM

Steve Brescia: R, C, L, I

42nd Senate District

Sen. Jen Metzger, D-Rosendale: D, WF, SAM

Mike Martucci: R, C, L, I, SAM

46th Senate District

Michelle Hinchey: D, WF, SAM

Gary Greenberg: D

Richard Amedure Jr.: R, C, I, SAM

Robert Alft Jr.: Green

51st Senate District

Jim Barber: D

Peter Oberacker: R, C, I

Timothy O’Connor: L

98th Assembly District

Assemblyman Karl Brabenec, R-Deerpark: R, C, L, I

99th Assembly District

Assemblyman Colin Schmitt: R, C, L, I, SAM

Sarita Bhandarkar: D, WF

100th Assembly District

Assemblywoman Aileen Gunther, D-Forestburgh: D, WF, I

101st Assembly District

Assemblyman Brian Miller, R-New Hartford: R, C, I

Chad McEvoy: D, WF

Barbara Kidney: G

103rd Assembly District

Assemblyman Kevin Cahill, D-Kingston: D, WF, I

Rex Bridges: R

104th Assembly District

Assemblyman Jonathan Jacobson, D-Newburgh: D, WF

Andrew Guazza IV: R, C

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives