Khariff LaBoy and Matt Przybocki named first-team all-state

New Paltz running back/defensive back Khariff LaBoy and John S. Burke Catholic running back Matt Przybocki were both named all-state first-teamers as the New York State Sportswriters Association released its Class B, C and D teams on Tuesday.

LaBoy, a repeat first-teamer in Class B, earned a spot as an all-purpose player. Przybocki, a junior, was put on the Class C team as a running back.
The all-state football teams are compiled using input from numerous reporters, league officials and coaches across the state. The Class AA and A all-state teams are set to be released next week.

“It feels really good repeating first-team all-state,” LaBoy, a senior, said. “It’s a great way to end my career. To be one of the best in the state, that’s just as good as a championship. I really didn’t ever think I would accomplish this much in my four years.”

LaBoy rushed for 1,426 yards and 16 touchdowns for New Paltz this season and made 37 tackles with four interceptions.

Przybocki rushed for 1,836 yards and 25 touchdowns to lead Burke Catholic to its first Section 9 Class C title. He made 58 tackles with three interceptions at free safety.
Section 9 had plenty of other representation on the Class B, C, D all-state teams. Here is the complete list of Section 9 players who were recognized:

Class B
First team
New Paltz senior Khariff LaBoy, all purpose player

Second team
Marlboro senior Ryan Cary, quarterback
Marlboro senior Marsallis Faircloth, running back
Highland senior Ryan Merget, offensive end (wide receiver)
Highland senior A.J. Buchanan, linebacker
Marlboro junior Ryan Greaven, linebacker

Third team
Marlboro junior Robert Papuli, offensive line
Rondout Valley senior Keith Malak, linebacker

Honorable mention
Marlboro senior Dustin Eyerman, defensive back
New Paltz senior Troy Grant, defensive lineman
New Paltz senior Deron Dixon, linebacker
Red Hook senior Ben Zitz, offensive lineman

Class C
First team
Millbrook senior Henry Cardinal, running back
John S. Burke Catholic junior Matt Przybocki, running back
Millbrook senior Devon Jackson, all purpose player

Second team
James I. O’Neill senior Keegan West, all purpose player

Third team
James I. O’Neill senior Malik Chambers, running back
Burke Catholic junior Brandon Rawlins, offensive line

Honorable mention
Liberty senior Quinn Jackson, quarterback
Millbrook junior Joe Daley, running back

Class D
Second team
Chester junior Vinny Aloi, quarterback
Chester senior Lawrence Young, running back
Chester senior Chris Wittekind, defensive lineman

Honorable mention
Chester senior Owen Burke, defensive back
Chester senior Matt Perry, linebacker

This entry was posted in Football. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Ken McMillan

    Sports editor Ken McMillan has been covering sports since he got his first writing job in 1979. He has covered Section 9 athletics for the past 35 years. He reports on local college and high school. He also writes on TV/radio sports news, having ... Read Full

    Sal Interdonato

    Award-winning writer Sal Interdonato has been on the Army football beat since 2007. He'll take you inside the huddle and into the lives of the Black Knights. Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives