Section 9 boys golf first-round pairings

Kingston’s Jake Hommel, the OCIAA champion, Onteora’s Justin Lane and Cornwall’s Ryan Rodriguez are among the favorites when the Section 9 championship Tuesday at The Powelton Club in Newburgh.

Ryan Rodriguez, a junior and three-time state qualifier, won the tournament as a freshman.

Lane, a sophomore, is a two-time state qualifier.

Also in the field are Eldred junior David Powers, a two-time state qualifier, Mid-Hudson Athletic League champion Erik Stauderman, a Spackenkill freshman and 2014 state qualifier and Spackenkill junior Stanley Garrant, who qualified for the state tournament in 2013.

The top 20 golfers plus ties at Powelton advance to the second and final round Wednesday at Otterkill Golf & Country Clubin Campbell Hall. The top nine golfers at Otterkill advance to the state tournament on May 30-June 1 at Cornell University.

The tournament will have a shotgun start at Powelton.

Here are the first-round tee times:

Hole 1:  Jake Hommel (Kingston); Ryan Rodriguez (Cornwall); ErikStauderman (Spackenkill); Justin Lane (Onteora).
Hole 2: Andrew Barone (Valley Central); Justin Theilig (Kingston); Jeff Peters (Roosevelt)
Hole 3: Zain Jafar (Newburgh Free Academy); Sean Copeland (New Paltz); Stanley Garrant (Spackenkill).
Hole 4: Brad Miller (Valley Central); Matt Dickson (Washingtonville); Nick Armstrong (Red Hook).
Hole 5: Sean Adams (Valley Central); Ryan Ackert (New Paltz); Jordan Stein (Millbrook).
Hole 6: Scott Kleeschulte (Kingston); Carl Gelardi (Minisink Valley); Austin Lunstedt (Red Hook).
Hole 7: Dan Goetze (Cornwall); Lane Mitchell (Tri-Valley); Franco Julia-Wise (New Paltz).
Hole 8: Jason Dolney (Goshen); Mike Boryk (Roosevelt); Patrick Knopp (Rhinebeck).
Hole 9: David Powers (Eldred); Chris Hughes (Monroe-Woodbury); Brandon Variano (Roosevelt).
Hole 10: Josh Kienz (Valley Central); Ryan Hunter (Monroe-Woodbury); Travis Hornbeck (Rondout Valley).
Hole 11: Dylan Barone (Valley Central); Mitch Wiemer (Millbrook); Nate McPherson (New Paltz).
Hole 12: Bryan Gayton (Cornwall); Ryan Waaland (Washingtonville); Asa Spurlock (Onteora).
Hole 13: Brandon Lewis (Monroe-Woodbury); Ryan Betcher (Newburgh Free Academy); Nolan Secreto (Wallkill).
Hole 14: Josh Wimer (James I. O’Neill); Cody Kubenik (Sullivan West); Bradley Delmar (Spackenkill).
Hole 15: Omar Jafar (Newburgh Free Academy); Chris Kelly (Monroe-Woodbury); Cameron Hackett (Red Hook).
Hole 16: Alex Sill (Kingston); Blake Waaland (Washingtonville); Josh Timm (Spackenkill).
Hole 18: Joe Gokey (Monroe-Woodbury); Dion Lynch (Tri-Valley); Wesley Watts (New Paltz).


This entry was posted in Golf, Other Sports. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives