Section 9’s boys state swimming and diving meet team

I caught up with Newburgh Free Academy junior Juan Peticco after practice today. The Section 9 champion in both the 200 and 500-yard freestyle events, Peticco will compete in both at the state meet in Buffalo this weekend.

Look for a story on Peticco’s journey to the state meet in Wednesday’s paper.

Newburgh likes to steer its younger swimmers toward the distance events, as it’s a little easier for 12-year-olds to compete there than it is against 18-year-olds in the sprint events. Peticco thrived there thanks to his intuitive understanding of pacing as well as his relentless nature in fighting through the pain of the 500 freestyle.

He will be one of many representing Section 9 at the state meet. Here is the full Section 9 delegation and their top times this season.

  • NYSPHSAA boys swimming and diving championships
  • At Erie Community College, Buffalo
  • Friday: Swimming preliminaries and diving
  • Saturday: Swimming finals

Section 9 state meet team

200 medley relay
Monroe-Woodbury (Liam Allen, Shane Treanor, Andrew Choi, John Wadsworth) 1:37.46; Minisink Valley (Zack Vreeland, Hunter Cooney, Garrett Doherty, Michael Flaherty) 1:37.82; Pine Bush (Eian McKeon, Christopher Druke, Ryan Lee, Christian Velazquez) 1:39.43; Newburgh Free Academy (Edward Domanico, Aleksey Makarov, Matthew Johnson, Josh Bryant) 1:39.61.

200 freestyle
Juan Peticco (Newburgh Free Academy) 1:45.85; Eian McKeon (Pine Bush) 1:47.33; Rhett Burns (Marlboro-Highland-Roosevelt) 1:47.57.

200 individual medley
Seamus Trzewik-Quinn (New Paltz) 1:57.62; John Wadsworth (Monroe-Woodbury) 1:58.59.

50 freestyle
Josh Bryant (Newburgh Free Academy) 21.90; Ryan Lee (Pine Bush) 21.99; Josh Zock (Valey Central) 22.15; Michael Flaherty (Minisink Valley) 22.18; Christian Velazquez (Pine Bush) 22.18.

Nick Fry (Newburgh Fre Academy) 513.45; Colin Lang (Pine Bush) 511.20; Chris Corsello (Monroe-Woodbury) 499.85; Andrew Greer (Pine Bush) 485.20; Andrew Matta (Newburgh Free Academy) 463.25.

100 butterfly
Leo LaPorte (Washingtonville) 51.82; Zack Vreeland (Minisink Valley) 52.36; Ryan Lee (Pine Bush) 53.36; Hunter Cooney (Minisink Valley) 53.62.

100 freestyle
Josh Bryant (Newburgh Free Academy) 48.05; Michael Flaherty (Minisink Valley) 48.53; Eian McKeon (Pine Bush) 48.63.

500 freestyle
Juan Peticco (Newburgh Free Academy) 4:51.59.

200 freestyle relay
Pine Bush (Ryan Lee, Christian Velazquez, Christopher Druke, Eian McKeon) 1:28.55; Monroe-Woodbury (Billy Coddington, Richard Martucci, Daniel Ip, Shane Mills) 1:30.05.

100 backstroke
Seamus Trzewik-Quinn (New Paltz) 52.34; Zack Vreeland (Minisink Valley) 53.88; Liam Allen (Monroe-Woodbury) 54.72.

100 breaststroke
Benjamin Vondrak (Cornwall) 59.13; Shane Treanor (Monroe-Woodbury) 59.40; Andrew Choi (Monroe-Woodbury) 59.88; John Wadsworth (Monroe-Woodbury) 59.90; Elias Econopouly (Rhinebeck) 1:00.22.

400 freestyle relay
Minisink Valley (Michael Flaherty, Garrett Doherty, Hunter Cooney, Zack Vreeland) 3:15.09; Monroe-Woodbury (Billy Coddington, Shane Mills, John Wadsworth, Shane Treanor) 3:17.88.

This entry was posted in Swimming. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives