Section 9 All-BCANY boys basketball awards and teams

The Section 9 chapter of the Basketball Coaches Association of New York released its Section 9 All-BCANY boys basketball teams Thursday. The association selected a player of the year, coach of the year and a team for the sportsmanship award in each Section 9 classification.

The organization also added two awards this season: the 3-point champion and free throw champion. A player needed a minimum of 20 3-pointers and 35 free throws to qualify for each respective award.

Below are the Section 9 All-BCANY teams.

Class AA

Player of the year: Daniel Grant (Middletown)

Coach of the year: Stephen Distefano (Pine Bush)

All-stars: Riley Hayes (Burke Catholic), Alex Karamanos (Kingston), Grant, Jordan Bryan (Middletown), Kenny Middleton (Middletown), Prince White (Minisink Valley), Max Peguero (Monroe-Woodbury), Justin Mitchell (Newburgh), Marquis Johnson (Pine Bush), Justin Powell (Pine Bush), Savion Boissard (Valley Central), Kenny Gray (Valley Central), Paddy Guilfoyle (Warwick), Brian Picone (Washingtonville).

Sportsmanship award: Washingtonville

3-point champion: Connor Perez (Warwick), 42 percent

Free throw champion: Picone, 76 percent

Class A

Player of the year: Dennis Hare (Red Hook)

Coach of the year: Matt Hayes (Red Hook)

All-stars: Jason Bailey (Cornwall), Michael Weiss (Goshen), Kyle McCreery (Monticello), Donavan Williams (Monticello), Axel Rodriguez (New Paltz), AJ Dechiara (Port Jervis), Shaquez Nesbitt (Poughkeepsie), Akili Hill (Poughkeepsie), Hare, Nick Michitsch (Red Hook), Shawn Jansen (Saugerties), Jeroy Gordon (Saugerties), Justin Dunikowski (Wallkill).

Sportsmanship award: Cornwall

3-point champion: Weiss, 39 percent

Free throw champion: Bailey, 88.6 percent

Class B

Player of the year: Xavier Oliver (Marlboro)

Coach of the year: Mike Koehler (Marlboro)

All-stars: Jose Cruz (Ellenville), Tyrique Wooten (Ellenville), Jaidon Zeno (Fallsburg), Nick Palmatier (Highland), Jackson McInvale (James I. O’Neill), Roy Penn-Cosentino (Liberty), Tyler Jollie (Marlboro), Oliver, Jameson Morton (Onteora), Avery Coston (Rondout Valley), Camron Abalos (Spackenkill), Kyiev Bennermon (Spackenkill), Alex Strom (Spackenkill).

Sportsmanship award: O’Neill

3-point champion: Dylan Clark (Onteora), 51 percent

Free throw champion: Jacob Rao (Highland), 69 percent

Class C/D

Player of the year: Eric Block (S.S. Seward)

Coach of the year: Jon Marsilio (Chester)

All-stars: Justin Feldman (Chester), Wilson Jimenez (Chester), Austin Uhl (Coleman Catholic), Noah Clemmons (Eldred), Andrew Halloran (Eldred), David Powers (Eldred), Block, Bobby Olsen (Seward), Rob Scott (Seward), Mafuse Solomon (Seward), Chris Mosher (Tri-Valley), Robert Worden (Tri-Valley).

Sportsmanship award: Tuxedo

3-point champion: Worden, 47 percent

Free throw champion: Block, 83 percent


Twitter: @JoshBakan845

This entry was posted in Basketball. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives