Boys lacrosse state finals in Middletown on Saturday

The boys lacrosse state championships return to Middletown’s Faller Field on Saturday.

Middletown had previously hosted the boys lacrosse state finals in 2012 and has also been the site of the state track and field championships (2013) and the boys soccer semifinals and finals since 2010.

Tickets are $8.


Boys lacrosse state championships

(All games at Middletown’s Faller Field)



Class A

Victor (21-0, Section 5) vs. Ward Melville (18-3, Section 11), 4 p.m.

About Victor: Senior midfielder T.D. Ierlan won 17 of his 18 faceoffs in a 15-4 victory over Corning-Painted Post in a state semifinal game on Wednesday. Victor is the defending state Class B champion and has won 43 consecutive games.

About Ward Melville: Ward Melville defeated Section 1 champion Lakeland-Panas, 16-6, in a state semifinal on Wednesday. Lakeland-Panas had advanced with a win over Valley Central in the state quarterfinals this past weekend. Ward Melville has won eight state championships since 1978, the most recent in 2013.


Class B

Jamesville-Dewitt (20-2, Section 3) vs. Yorktown (16-6, Section 1), 11 a.m.

About Jamesville-Dewitt: Grayson Burns (64 goals), Griffin Cook (62 goals) and Ryan Archer (61 goals) lead a potent attack for the state’s No. 1-ranked team.

About Yorktown: The Huskers defeated Section 9 champion Highland in the state quarterfinals and topped Shoreham-Wading River in the state semis to reach the finals. Yorktown beat Jamesville-Dewitt in the 2014 state Class B final for the school’s seventh state title.


Class C

Penn Yan (17-2, Section 5) vs. Cold Spring Harbor (17-1, Section 8), 1:30 p.m.

About Penn Yan: After getting knocked out in the state semifinals by Section 3’s Cazenovia in each of the last three seasons, Penn Yan is headed back to the finals after an 11-10 overtime win on Wednesday. Senior attack Tate Stewart scored the game-winner.

About Cold Spring Harbor: Matt Strough scored four goals and Matt Licciardi scored three to lead CSH to a 12-10 win over Section 1 champion Pleasantville in the state semifinals. Pleasantville had defeated Section 9 champion Rondout Valley in the quarterfinal round. Cold Spring Harbor is the defending state Class C champion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives