State wildcards: Section 9 wrestlers earn 6 at-large berths

Wallkill seniors Brad Bonner and Andrew Davis and Valley Central senior Rob Satriano were granted one more tournament to wrestle in their high school careers Wednesday.

Bonner (132 pounds), Davis (126) and Satriano (132) received at-large (wildcard) berths into the state tournament next weekend at the Times Union Center in Albany. Bonner took second in the Section 9 tournament for the second straight season last weekend. Davis and Satriano were third in their respective weight classes.

Newburgh Free Academy junior Greg Fischer (106), Valley Central freshman Matt Romano (113) and Minisink Valley junior Joey Yanis (182) also will wrestle in the tournament as wildcards.

Yanis is a two-time section finalist. Fischer and Romano placed second in the section tournament.

Since the addition of the at-large format in 2007, two Section 9 wrestlers – Kyle Diesel (2011) and Ryan Ellefsen (2016) – have advanced to the state finals as a wildcard.

Division I wildcards

99 pounds: Dennis Robin (Arlington-Section 1, 50-4); Garrett Semenetz (Mahopac-1, 20-6); Mark Matyka (Riverhead-11, 38-8); Jake Eckerle (Commack-11, 39-5).

106: Zach Redding (Eastport-South Manor-11, 37-4); C.J. McMonegal (North Rockland-1, 35-5); Thomas Hughes (Fulton-3, 33-7); Greg Fischer (Newburgh Free Academy, 38-7).

113: Mitch Seaver (Lockport-6, 30-6); Brandon DiDomenico (Lakeland-Panas-1, 32-5); Mark Acheson (Tappan Zee-1, 31-4); Matt Romano (Valley Central, 35-4).

120: Anthony Cirillo (Rocky Point-11, 21-4); Kevin Depalma (Farmingdale-8, 47-6); Ulises Olmedo (Arlington-1, 42-7); Joe Simons (Farmingdale-8, 38-8).

126: Tyler Mitchell (Spencerport-5, 40-5); Matt Killard (Wantagh-8, 34-4); Ian McKenna (New Hartford-3, 30-6); Andrew Davis (Wallkill, 44-6).

132: Matt Maquet (Long Beach-8, 40-8); Matt Swanson (Lynbrook-8, 37-6); Brad Bonner (Wallkill, 40-8); Rob Satriano (Valley Central, 34-7).

138: Kyle Mosher (South Side-8, 36-5); James Trezza (Smithtown-11, 35-4); Cory Giunta (Webster Thomas-5, 44-2); Ray Cotto (John Jay-Cross River-1, 40-5).

145: Phil Spadafora (Half Hollow Hills East-11, 34-4); Shane Gibbons (Massapequa-8, 38-5); Troy Ferris (Brockport-5, 47-7); John Colletti (Long Beach-8, 33-6).

152: Tyrese Byron (Long Beach-8, 38-6); Garret Gibbons (Massapequa-8, 39-7); Billy Sims (Lindenhurt-11, 37-4); Brian Nicpon (Suffern-1, 27-5).

160: Eoghan Sweeney (Niskayuna-2, 38-4); Chris Spada (Long Beach-8, 38-7); Max Sims (Lindenhurst-11, 37-5); Aaron Wolk (Horace Greeley-1, 34-8).

170: Joe Eiden (Sachem East-11, 35-4); Darrin Simmons (Farmingdale-8, 45-3); Jake Logan (New Rochelle-1, 24-6); Jacob Ferreira (Horace Greeley-1, 34-5).

182: Tyreek Bromley (Long Beach-8, 33-6); Joey Yanis (Minisink Valley, 39-3); Jhavon Innocent (East Ramapo-1, 24-5); Joe Andreesen (Lancaster-6, 39-6).

195: Greg Hodulick (Islip-11, 44-3); Dylan Nerich (Bryant-PSAL, 31-5); Dillon Knoll (Hamburg-6, 32-7); Jack Rosen (Farmingdale-8, 38-6)

220: Damien Caffrey (John Glenn-11, 37-1); Matt DeFrancis (Eastport-11, 37-6); Mark Rivera (Long Beach-8, 27-5); Josh Jean-Baptiste (East Ramapo-1, 37-6).

285: John Munro (Hauppauge-11, 35-3); Jacquez Poole (Arlington-1, 48-5); Jared Crucitti (Fulton-3, 34-7); Sean Kloss (Clarence-6, 39-5).

This entry was posted in Wrestling. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Sal Interdonato

    Award-winning writer Sal Interdonato has been on the Army football beat since 2007. He'll take you inside the huddle and into the lives of the Black Knights. Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives