2017 Section 9 boys tennis round of 16, quarterfinal results

Cornwall junior Lucas Arora, the top seed, rolled to the semifinals without losing a game in two matches on the first day of the Section 9 championships.

Arora defeated Roosevelt’s Cory Gallinger 6-0, 6-0 in the round of 16 and topped Millbrook eighth-grader Sophia Feigelson 6-0, 6-0. Feigelson beat James I. O’Neill’s Ted Northup 4-6, 6-3, 6-3 in the round of 16.

Washingtonville’s Gavan O’Brien, the fourth seed, outlasted Spackenkill’s Ryan Ackert 4-6, 6-3, 6-3 to reach the semifinals. O’Brien, who battled a back injury throughout the quarterfinal, plays Arora in Wednesday’s semifinals.

Goshen senior Lucas Irace, the third seed, advanced to the semifinals with a 6-1, 6-0 win over Roosevelt’s Naveen Chowdhury 6-1, 6-0.

Warwick’s Pearse Algiere and Dean Redmond, the OCIAA champions, moved into the semifinals with a 6-1, 6-2 victory over Cornwall’s Sean Jessup and Will Webber.

Section 9 championships
(at Match Point Tennis, Goshen)

Lucas Arora (Cornwall) d. Sophia Feigelson (Millbrook) 6-0, 6-0; Gavan O’Brien (Washingtonville) d. Ryan Ackert (Spackenkill) 4-6, 6-3, 6-3; Lucas Irace (Goshen) d. Naveen Chowdhury (Roosevelt) 6-1, 6-0; Dan Leach (Cornwall) d. Tomas Pesko-West (Onteora) 6-1, 6-2.

Round of 16
No. 1 seed Lucas Arora (Cornwall) d. Cory Gallinger (Roosevelt) 6-0, 6-0; Sophia Feigelson (Millbrook) d. Ted Northup (James I. O’Neill) 4-6, 6-3, 6-2; Ryan Ackert (Spackenkill) d.¬†Owusu Agyemon (Middletown) 6-0, 7-5; No. 4 Gavan O’Brien (Washingtonville) d. Zach Bonitz (Ellenville) 6-3, 6-1; No. 3 Lucas Irace (Goshen) d. Caleb McMenemy (Onteora) 6-3, 6-4; Naveen Chowdhury (Roosevelt) d. Justin Starke (James I. O’Neill) 6-2, 6-1; Dan Leach (Cornwall) d. Bradley Hack (Kingston) 6-1, 6-2; Tomas Pesko-West (Onteora) d. Anthony Gray (Warwick) 5-7, 6-0, 7-5.
Outbracket: Dan Leach (Cornwall) d. Claude Stephens (Marlbor0) 6-0, 6-0.

Pearse Algiere-Dean Redmond (Warwick) d. Sean Jessup-Will Webber (Cornwall) 6-1, 6-2; Matt Reinhold-Jack Clayton (Newburgh Free Academy) d. Alec Gautier-Mitch Hutchins (Rhinebeck); David Salazar-Troy Steiner (Newburgh Free Academy) vs. Emil Vyskocil-Reilly Chin (Cornwall); Zach Price-Colin Gordon (Monroe-Woodbury) vs. Noah Kalus-Issac Cheruiyot (New Paltz).

Round of 16
Pearse Algiere-Dean Redmond (Warwick) d. John McCormick-Chris Backus (Saugerties) 6-3, 6-1; Sean Jessup-Will Webber (Cornwall) d. Ethan Husted-Colin Sullivan (Red Hook) 6-0, 6-3; Matt Reinhold-Jack Clayton (Newburgh Free Academy) d. Jamie Derbyshire-Jed Hammond (Rhinebeck) 6-0, 6-0; Alec Gauthier-Mitch Hutchins (Rhinebeck) d. Marc Romero-Nick Villegas (Warwick) 6-3, 6-3; David Salazar (Newburgh Free Academy) d. Alex Ristic-John Conti (Spackenkill) 6-1, 6-0; Emil Vyskocil-Reilly Chin (Cornwall) d. Charles Benfer-Yazeed Haidaoui (Marlboro) 6-0, 6-3; Zach Price-Colin Gordon (Monroe-Woodbury) d. Colin Smith-Eric Choi (Spackenkill) 6-1, 6-1; Noah Kalus-Issac Cheruiyot (New Paltz) d. Paul-Hudson Erwin-Nick Lee (Cornwall) 7-6 (7-0), 6-2

This entry was posted in Tennis. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives