2018 Eastern States Classic: Section 9 entrants

Minisink Valley senior 132-pounder Connor Greiner is the lone Section 9 Eastern States Classic medalist entering the tournament’s 16th year Friday and Saturday at SUNY Sullivan in Loch Sheldrake.

Greiner, who placed sixth at 113 in 2016, returns to the tournament after missing last season with an ankle injury.

Minisink Valley has entered a Section 9-high 13 wrestlers into the tournament, which has 166 schools from six states.

Wyoming Seminary (Pa.), the nation’s fourth-ranked team, has 14 wrestlers in the field including nationally-ranked Beau Bartlett (No. 9, 126), Jack Davis (No. 10, 132) and Austin Cooley (No. 12, 195).

The tournament starts at 10:40 a.m. Friday with the round of 64 and preliminary matches. The finals are scheduled to start 4:15 p.m. Saturday.

Here’s a list of the Section 9 wrestlers who have entered the Eastern States Classic:

Cornwall: Christian Prokosch (Sr., 99 pounds); Dan Heffner (Jr., 145); Steve Gazzillo (Jr., 145); Matt Schuyler (Sr., 152); Will Leonard (Jr., 220).

Goshen: Frank Fea (Sr., 138); Dan Mandic (Sr., 145).

Kingston: Jacob Chenier (Soph., 106).

Middletown: Justin Morales (Soph., 99); Joe Velazquez (Soph., 152); Destin Morano (Jr., 152); Darnell Kornegay (Sr., 182); Julius Oquendo (195, Sr.)

Minisink Valley: Evan Hewett (Fr., 99); Nick Picariello (Soph., 106); Jordan Suarez (113, Soph.); Sean Savacool (Soph., 126); Connor Greiner (Sr., 132); Dom Vetrano (Sr., 138); Vinny Vetrano (Sr., 145); Nick Albornoz (Jr., 152); Tim Ganuncio (Sr., 160); Joey Yanis (182, Sr.); Anton Juncaj (Jr., 195); Adam Fenner (Fr., 220); Andrew Fenner (Sr., 285).

Monroe-Woodbury: Grant Barczak (8th grader, 99); Rich Toledo (Jr., 99); Dylan Earl (Sr., 113); Ryan Burgos (Jr., 113); Marco Vespa (Jr., 120); Joe McGinty (Soph., 138); Carter Stewart (Sr., 145); David Strauss (Jr., 220); Preston Havison (Jr. 285).

Newburgh Free Academy: Greg Fischer (Sr., 106); Brandon DeLaRosa (Jr., 120); Luke Fischer (Soph., 126); Tyler Serafini (Jr., 152); Alex Miller (Sr., 182); Maxx DeCapua (Soph., 195)

Onteora: Pat Ross (Fr., 120); Nick Ross (Fr., 126); Nate Ross (Soph., 138); Zach Chartrand (Sr., 145); Dillon Ross (Sr., 170).

Pine Bush: Tommy Askey (Soph., 132); Dylan Greer (Sr., 138); Nick Florin (Jr., 138); Derrick Magsamen (Sr., 138); Shaun Burgos (Sr., 160).

Port Jervis: Eric Tigue (Eighth-grader, 106); Carson Sauschuck (Sr., 126); Gavin Staerker (Jr., 132); Asher Pelton (Sr., 138); Drew Harrison (Jr., 152); Jason Butler (Sr., 170).

Red Hook: Matt Morris (Soph., 106); Tristen Schiafo (Sr., 152); Ryan Hobson (Sr., 195); Liam Dietrich (Soph., 285).

Rondout Valley: Nikko Walsh (Fr., 99); Ian Houck (Sr., 145).

Saugerties: Jimmy Heinlein (Jr., 126); Graeme Knisell (Soph., 160); Matt Bucci (Jr., 170); Anthony Owen (Jr., 182).

Valley Central: Matt Romano (Soph., 126); Ray Napolitano (Sr., 152); Collin Cummings (Sr., 160); Mark Crisfield (Jr., 220); Bryce Moore (Jr., 285).

Wallkill: Kraig Thomas (Jr., 145); Brian Mascaro (Sr., 170).

Warwick: Drew Greco (Fr., 106); Hunter Brown (Sr., 113); Brian MacDougall (Sr., 120); Jordan Pinskey (Soph., 120); Andrew Wierzbicki (Sr., 195).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Sal Interdonato

    Award-winning writer Sal Interdonato has been on the Army football beat since 2007. He'll take you inside the huddle and into the lives of the Black Knights. Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives