2018 Brawl for the Belt: Minisink Valley 65, Monroe-Woodbury 15

Minisink Valley wrestling gained possession of the belt for the first time defeating rival Monroe-Woodbury 65-15 in the second annual Brawl for the Belt in Slate Hill.

Senior James Udasco opened the match with the first of five straight Minisink Valley wins with a 13-7 decision over Connor Parliman at 160 pounds. Minisink Valley (29-1) led 27-0 after five matches against undermanned Monroe-Woodbury. The Crusaders did not have four of their top wrestlers in the lineup in Marco Vespa, Dylan Earl, Ryan Burgos and Joe McGinty and forfeited two weight classes (113 and 220).

Tim Ganuncio (170) pounds, Joey Yanis (182), Evan Hewett (99), Nick Picariello (106), Connor Greiner (132) and Dom Vetrano recorded pins for Minisink Valley.

Jake Minnies (120) and Preston Havison (285) scored pins and Carter Stewart (152) won by decision for Monroe-Woodbury. Havison avenged an ultimate-tiebreaker setback to Andrew Fenner in the Section 9 Duals Division I final earlier in January.

Monroe-Woodbury’s David Strauss couldn’t continue to wrestle due to an apparent knee injury early in the second period of his 220-pound match against Adam Fenner.

The Brawl for the Belt was started in the 2016-2017 season as an annual dual-meet between Section 9 perennial top teams. The winner keeps possession of authentic belt. Monroe-Woodbury held the belt after a 39-34 win over Minisink Valley last season. Minisink Valley defeated Monroe-Woodbury 56-16 for the Division I duals championship three weeks ago.

Minisink Valley 65, Monroe-Woodbury 15

99 pounds: Evan Hewett (MV) pin Richie Toledo 5:08; 106: Nick Picariello (MV) pin Jack Kohrs 3:27; 113: Jordan Suarez (MV) won by forfeit; 120: Jake Minnies (M-W) pin Mia Macaluso 5:32; 126: Sean Savacool (MV) d. Shamar Johnson 16-5; 132: Connor Greiner (MV) pin Max Wernicki 3:09; 138: Dom Vetrano (MV) pin Michael Zrelak :55; 145: Vinny Vetrano (MV) d. Julian Campofiori 10-0; 152: Carter  Stewart (M-W) d. Nick Albornoz 7-3; 160: James Udasco (MV) d. Connor Parliman 13-7; 170: Tim Ganuncio (MV) pin Mike Paravati 1:41; 182: Joey Yanis (MV) pin Lex Lendoff 1:25; 195: Anton Juncaj (MV) won by forfeit; 220: Adam Fenner (MV) won by injury default over David Strauss; 285: Preston Havison (M-W) pin Andrew Fenner 2:09.

Records: Minisink Valley 29-1.

This entry was posted in Wrestling. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Sal Interdonato

    Award-winning writer Sal Interdonato has been on the Army football beat since 2007. He'll take you inside the huddle and into the lives of the Black Knights. Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives