Boys basketball: BCANY Section 9 awards

The Basketball Coaches Association of New York (BCANY) has made its selections for the Section 9 all-stars.
In order to receive any BCANY award, the head coach must be a member of the Association.
Class AA
Player of year – Bryan Powell, Pine Bush
Coach of year – John Kelly, Burke Catholic
All-stars: Burke Catholic – Andre Paul; Jake Pawliczak; Kingston – Bryan Moore; Damani Thomas; Chris Wright; Middletown – Marquis Gill; Minisink Valley – Matt Koval; Monroe-Woodbury – Brandon Adams; Rob Vacco; Newburgh – Zach Barnes; Pine Bush – Mason Memmelaar; Brandon Powell; Roosevelt – Kevin Henri; Valley Central – Dan Ferrond; Warwick – Zach Goldstein; Washingtonville – Ryan Johnson; Brendan O’Leary
Sportsmanship award Burke Catholic
3-point champ – Brian Moore, Pine Bush (55 percent)
Free throw champ – Brian Moore, Pine Bush (87 percent)
Class A
Player of year – Dior Johnson, Saugerties
Coach of year – Stuart Robinson, New Paltz
All-stars: Cornwall – Eric Fosstviet; Will Fredericks; Zack Swaby; Goshen – Zach Foley; Monticello – Alberto Florez, Josh Gattling; New Paltz – Casey Burke, Michael Holihand, Axel Rodriguez; Port Jervis – Devin Munoz; Red Hook – Hunter Cole, Chris Yearwood; Saugerties – Austin Curlin; Wallkill – Stefon Miller
Sportsmanship award – New Paltz
3-point champ – Austin Curlin, Saugerties (40 percent)
Free throw champ – Dior Johnson, Saugerties (82 percent)
Class B
Player of year – Jaiden Allen, Marlboro
Coach of year – Mike Koehler, Marlboro
All-stars: Chester – Kevin Stein; Ellenville – Sivon Diconcillo, Justin Guliano, Ramil Johnson; Fallsburg – Brandon Blakney, Rashaad Nurse; Highland – Andre Twyman; Liberty – Roy Penn-Cosentino; Marlboro – Austin Casey, John Perugino; O’Neill – Darius Boben, Miles Eberhard; Spackenkill – Kyiev Bennermon, Brian Helfman
Sportsmanship award – Highland
3-point champ – Joey Battiato, Ellenville (47 percent)
Free throw champ – Max Rodriguez, Ellenville (80 percent)
Class C/D
Player of year – John Guerra, S.S. Seward
Coach of year – Rob Gravelle, S.S. Seward
All-stars: Livingston Manor – Juniper Brown; Millbrook – Humberto Cabrera, Jake Daly, Patrick Kyle; Roscoe – Dan Clancy; S.S. Seward – Andrew Sanchez, Matt Stam, Bobby Verblaauw; Sullivan West – Collin Hauschild; Tri-Valley – Chase Botsford, Brennan Healy
Sportsmanship award – Millbrook
3-point champ – Patrick Kyle, Millbrook (43.8 percent)
Free-throw champ – Chase Botsford, Tri-Valley (78.2 percent)

This entry was posted in Basketball, High School Sports. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives