Cornwall’s Fay, Moulton sweep Section 9 volleyball honors

Cornwall’s Meg Fay and Jeff Moulton were named the Section 9 player of the year and coach of the year by area coaches.

Fay, a senior outside hitter, set Cornwall’s all-time kills record with 747. She led the Dragons with 243 kills, 109 digs, 52 aces and a .309 hitting percentage.

Moulton guided Cornwall to an undefeated regular season and the school’s fifth berth in the state Class A Final Four.

Fay (Class A), Pine Bush junior middle hitter Taylor Pannell (AA), Red Hook junior middle hitter Maddie Boucher (B), Millbrook junior outside hitter Erin Fox (C) and Mount Academy junior middle hitter Cayla Boller (D) were named the most valuable players in their respective classes.

Section 9 Coaches all-section teams
Class AA
MVP: Taylor Pannell, Pine Bush, junior
First team: Emily Bott, Pine Bush, senior; Taylor Jones, Pine Bush, junior; Tori Boulay, Kingston, junior; Shannon Bonewit, Kingston, senior; Jayda Roman, Minisink Valley, senior; Gabbi Gaibur, Warwick, senior.
Second team: Saige Colon, Minisink Valley, senior; Lily Newkirk, Warwick, senior; Jamie Waldron, Monroe-Woodbury, senior; Tori Ost, Kingston, senior; Shelby Eller, Pine Bush, Sr.; Brianna Cohen, Middletown, junior.
Honorable mention: Ella Carver, Minisink Valley, junior; Kim Koval, Minisink Valley, sophomore; Ashley Gonzalez, Warwick, senior; Sarah Davis, Warwick, freshman; Anjalyna Talmadge, Pine Bush, senior.

Class A
MVP: Meg Fay, Cornwall, senior
First team: Martine Louis, Cornwall, senior; Eliana Bulusan, Cornwall, sophomore; Colleen Romero, Wallkill, junior; Madison Dembroski, Wallkill, junior; Hannah Taylor, Goshen, senior; Elizabeth Miller, Roosevelt, senior.
Second team: Nicole Kleinegger, Goshen, senior; Shannon Martin Ignaffo, Roosevelt, senior; Ella-Skye Franks, New Paltz, junior; Emily LaRuffa, Monticello, sophomore; Aniya Goodman, Wallkill, senior; Maggie Malone, Cornwall, senior.
Honorable mention: Gianna Felipe, Roosevelt, freshman; Amanda Tiedeman, Roosevelt, senior; Kailey Collins, Saugerties, senior; Hailey Mulford, Saugerties, senior; Bella Bulusan, Cornwall, senior; Emma Secor, Wallkill, junior; Jordan Giancola, New Paltz, junior.

Class B
MVP: Maddie Boucher, Red Hook, junior
First team: Rudae Gadson, Port Jervis, senior; Mackenzie Fischer, Rondout Valley, senior; Gigi Koch, Rondout Valley, freshman; Abby DeGraw, Rondout Valley, senior; Mackenzie Wade, Red Hook, junior; Alyssa Levine, Red Hook, senior.
Honorable mention: Irene Celaya, Red Hook, senior; Olivia Bell, Highland, freshman.

Class C
MVP: Erin Fox, Millbrook, junior
First team: Kyleigh Dana, Burke Catholic, senior; Emily Boylan, James I. O’Neill, senior; Julieanne McKee, Spackenkill, senior; Isabelle Herrera, Spackenkill, senior.
Second team: Ryley Betten, Burke Catholic, senior; Bailey Friedrichs, James I. O’Neill, sophomore; Nora Shanahan, Rhinebeck, senior; Euphenie Andre, Dover, senior; Bella Darnell, Millbrook, eighth grader; Maya-K Johnson, Spackenkill, senior.
Honorable mention: Jen Lawless, Burke Catholic, senior; Janne Rowan, James I. O’Neill, senior; Hailey Hill, James I. O’Neill, junior; Ariana Ball, Dover, senior; Samantha Beebe, Dover, senior.

Class D
MVP: Cayla Boller, Mount Academy, junior
First team: Vera Tietze, Mount Academy, junior; Sharon Hofer, Mount Academy, sophomore; Juliana Scanlon, Tuxedo, eighth grader; Alexandra Maynard, Tuxedo, senior; Sophia Ruscillo, Tuxedo, eighth grader; Allison Melody, S.S. Seward, senior.
Honorable mention: Emma Maynard, Tuxedo, junior.

This entry was posted in Volleyball. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives