2019 Section 9 Division II wrestling championship results

Ellenville senior 285-pounder Jason Lonstein and Onteora junior 152-pounder Nate Ross were named co-most outstanding wrestler at the Section 9 Division II championships at SUNY Ulster in Stone Ridge.

Lonstein pinned his way through the tournament, winning three matches by fall including a fall in 3:47 over Chester’s Devin McGovern in the final.

Ross, a 2017 section champion, pinned Highland freshman Logan Smith in 5:50 in the final.

The 120-pound final between Chester senior Liam Bullock and John Antonelli was voted the tournament’s most exciting match. Bullock prevailed 9-7 for his first section title.

In the most highly anticipated final of the night, Red Hook junior Matt Morris captured his second straight title with a 3-0 win over Rondout Valley’s Nikko Walsh, a two-time section champion, at 113 pounds.

Port Jervis was crowned team champion for the second straight season. Freshman Eric Tigue, who won his second consecutive title, led four Port Jervis champions.

Section 9 Division II championship

(at SUNY Ulster, Stone Ridge)
Team standings:
1. Port Jervis (PJ) 218; 2. Highland (H) 174; 3. Eldred-Liberty-Sullivan West (ELSW) 146; 4. Red Hook (RH) 128; 5. Onteora (O) 109; 6. Chester (CH) 106; 7. Rondout Valley (RV) 72; 8. Burke Catholic (BC) 31.5; 9. Ellenville (E) 30.5; 10. Marlboro (M) 16; 11. Tuxedo (T) 0

99 pounds: Trevor Tufano (PJ) pin Brandon McKay (RH) 3:26; 106: Peter Bender (H) d. Rocco DeAveiro (RV) 7-4; 113: Matt Morris (RH) d. Nikko Walsh (RV) 3-0; 120: Liam Bullock (CH) d. John Antonelli (M) 9-7; 126: Eric Tigue (PJ) pin Alex Lopez (RH) 1:59; 132: Matt Malheiro (H) d. Joey Amato (PJ) 7-3; 138: Nick Ross (O) d. Gavin Staerker (PJ) 11-2; 145: Nick Curreri (ELSW) pin Justin Halbert (H) 3:08; 152: Nate Ross (O) pin Logan Smith (H) 5:50; 160: Bryce Horner (PJ) d. Henry Peters (ELSW) 7-6; 170: Cesar Santiago (ELSW) d. Adain Maduro (H) 15-6; 182: Drew Bendy (ELSW) d. Joe Reed (PJ) 8-0; 195: James DeAveiro (ELSW) pin Ben Swart (H) :42; 220: James Oosterom (PJ) pin John Perez (H) 1:56; 285: Jason Lonstein (E) pin Devin McGovern (CH) 3:47.

Third-place consolations
99 pounds: Rian Kirker (RH) pin Quintin Herzog (ELSW) 3:40; 106: Lucas Ospina (RV) pin Benjamin Finch (RH) :42; 113: Landen Frey (RV) d. Chris Gatto (H) 10-8; 120: Joey Curreri (ELSW) pin Shawn Keeffe (J) :37;  126: Justin Vandendooran (O) d. Logan Zehr (H) 5-1; 132: Pat Ross (O) pin Mark Bruckenstein (CH) 2:20; 138: Ceasar Luna (H) pin Dan Klotz (PJ) 1:50; 145: Sam Buono (O) d. Tyler Benincasa (RH) 10-8; 152: Erik Quick (PJ) pin Kwalin Gonzalez (CH) 3:52; 160: James Shaw (BC) tech. fall George Reid (O) 16-0; 170: Brendan Douthit (BC) pin Teddy Szymanski (CH) 3:54; 182: Cole Greco (CH) pin Marshall Thomas (ELSW) 2:59; 195: Dylan Bullock (CH) pin Kendrick Ferrara (PJ) :35; 220: Chris Clark (RH) pin Ricky Mendoza (PJ) 3:33; 285: Jacob Southard (PJ) pin Shamar Gittens (H) :58

99 pounds: Trevor Tufano (PJ) pin Quintin Herzog (ELSW) 1:55; Brandon McKa (RH) pin Rian Kirker (RH) :42. 106: Peter Bender (H) d. Benjamin Pinch (RH) 15-1; Rocco DeAveiro (RV) pin Lucas Ospina (RV) 5:02. 113: Matt Morris (RH) pin Landen Fre (RV) :35; Nikko Walsh (RV) pin Chris Gatto (H) 1:23. 120: Liam Bullock (CH) pin Robert Harrison (PJ) 1:27; John Antonelli (M) d. Joey Curreri (ELSW) 6-0. 126: Eric Tigue (PJ) pin Justin Vandendooran (O) 7-2; Alex Lopez (RH) d. Timmy Pereira (RV) 11-3; 132: Matt Malheiro (H) d. Hunter Eberhard (RH) 14-0; Joey Amato (PJ) won by injury default over Pat Ross (O).

138: Nick Ross (O) pin Dan Klotz (PJ) 1:02; Gavin Staerker (PJ) d. Ceasar Luna (H) 6-1. 145: Nick Curreri (ELSW) pin Sam Buono (O) 1:57; Justin Halbert (H) d. Tyler Benincasa (RH) 11-9. 152: Nate Ross (O) pin Kwalin Gonzalez (CH) 1:14; Logan Smith (H) pin Owen Allison (O) 4:44. 160: Henry Peters (ELSW) d. James Shaw (BC) 3-1; Bryce Horner (PJ) pin George Reid (O) :47. 170: Cesar Santiago (ELSW) pin Teddy Szymanski (CH) 5:30; Adain Maduro (H) pin Brendan Douthit (BC) 2:21. 182: Drew Bendy (ELSW) pin Marshall Thomas (ELSW) 1:48; Joe Reed (PJ) pin Cole Greco (CH) 4:44. 195: James DeAveiro (ELSW) pin Kendrick Ferrara (PJ) 1:02; Ben Swart (H) d. Dylan Bullock (CH) 9-7. 220: James Oosterom (PJ) pin Chris Clark (RH) :29; John Perez (H) pin Ricky Mendoza (PJ) 3:55. 285: Devin McGovern (CH) pin Jacob Sothard (PJ) 1:15; Jason Lonstein (E) pin Shamar Gittens (H) 5:34.

99 pounds: Herzog (ELSW) pin Jared Pincus (CH) 4:26; 106: Finch (RH) pin Summer Conetta (CH) 1:37; DeAveiro (RV) d. David Ringleben (RH) 7-1. 113: Morris (RH) pin Matt Csernai (CH) :58; Frey (RV) pin Patrick Adams (ELSW) 1:34; Gatto (H) pin Christian Dissesa-Leon (E) 1:57; N. Walsh (RV) pin Wyatt Konjas (O) :53. 120: R. Harrison (PJ) d. Joe Artesen (H) 6-5; J. Curreri (ELSW) pin Shawn Keeffe (H) 3:26; Antonelli (M) pin Destiny Walsh (RV) :32. 126: Tigue (PJ) pin Josh Schmoyer (CH) :23; Vandendooran (O) d. Logan Zehr (H) 7-2; Pereira (RV) d. Anakin Luna (H) 3-1; Lopez (RH) pin Caleb Harrison (PJ) 3:32.

132: Malheiro (H) pin Walter Evans (E) 1:54; Eberhard (RH) pin Zev Ben Dor (O) :29; Amato (PJ) pin Arturo Dominguez (T) :43; P. Ross (O) pin Mark Bruckenstein (CH) 11-3. 138: Nick Ross (O) pin Issac Cain (RV) :54; Klotz (PJ) pin Avery Burns (O) 1:09; Luna (H) d. James Melitski (RH) 8-0; Staerker (PJ) pin Liam O’Connor (RH) 4:42. 145: Buono (O) pin Logan Zappolo (PJ) 3:31. 152: Gonzalez (CH) d. Erik Quick (PJ) 16-14; Smith (H) pin John Kennick (CH) 2:54; Allison (O) pin Wayne Kratz (ELSW) 1:31. 160: Shaw (BC) pin Bryan Sahad (CH) 1:14; Peters (ELSW) d. Nick Tsironis (RH) 4-1; Reid (O) pin Steven Bradford (CH) 4:44; Horner (PJ) pin Shawn St. Germain (PJ) 1:13.

170: Santiago (ELSW) pin Sam Waterman (RV) 1:48; Szymanski (CH) pin Andrew Shaw (BC) 3:29; Douthit (BC) pin Evan Hamilton (E) :33; Maduro (H) pin Maverick Sanchez (RH) :40. 182: Thomas (ELSW) pin Adam Albright (H) 3:56; Reed (PJ) pin Robert Jansen (RV) 1:05; Greco (CH) pin Matt Martinelli (BC) 3:21. 195: Ferrara (PJ) won by forfeit over Vincent Faison (CH). 220: Clark (RH) pin Andrew Scamihorm (ELSW) 1:53; Mendoza (PJ) pin Thomas Marvin (RH) 1:15; Perez (H) pin Alex Bollin (RV) :56. 285: McGovern (CH) pin William Freer (E) :41; Southard (PJ) pin Kane Losurdo (RH) 3:03; Gittens (H) pin Francesco Isola (BC) 1:22; Lonstein (E) pin Caleb Milk (ELSW) 1:03

Round of 16
126: Schmoyer (CH) pin Tim Dirie (ELSW) 3:21; C. Harrison (PJ) pin Charles Amoroso (ELSW) 3:32.  132: Evans (E) won by forfeit over Jimmy Kiss (H). 138: Cain (RV) won by forfeit over Theo Demond (T); Melitski (RH) won by forfeit over Mark Amoroso (ELSW); O’Connor (RH) won by forfeit over Dylan Williams (CH). 160: Sahad (CH) won by forfeit over Ethan Conner (E); Bradford (CH) d. Jack Brammer (RH) 13-12; St. Germain (PJ) pin Edwin Price (E) 1:02.

This entry was posted in Wrestling. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives