Live State wrestling Section 9 quarterfinal, Round of 16 results

Minisink Valley seventh-grader Zack Ryder recorded his second pin in as many matches, dropping Long Beach’s Jeremiah Echevaria in 4:44 to reach the state Division I 106-pound semifinals.

Ryder (42-3) earns a rematch with second-seeded Chase Liardi of Massapequa in Saturday’s semifinals. Liardi edged Ryder 2-1 at the Eastern States Classic.

Highland senior 132-pounder Matt Malherio is the school’s first state semifinalist since Brad Serini in 2007. Matt Malheiro held off third-seeded Mike O’Brien of Mount Sinai 1-0.

Monroe-Woodbury senior 120-pounder Marco Vespa was defeated by Port Chester’s Ivan Garcia, the sixth seed, 3-2 in double overtime, in the quarterfinals. Garcia escaped in the first 30-second overtime and held down Vespa in the second 30 seconds.

Saugerties senior 99-pounder Colby Amell, who was seeded sixth, did not make weight and will not compete in the tournament.

State championships
(Times Union Center, Albany)

Division I

99 pounds: Killian Foy (MacArthur-8) pin Andrew Marchese (Washingtonville) 3:58
106: Zack Ryder (Minisink Valley, 42-3) pin Jeremiah Echevaria (Long Beach-8) 4:44
120: Jayden Scott (Rush Henrietta-5) d. Nick Picariello (Minisink Valley) 8-3; Ivan Garcia (Port Chester) d. Marco Vespa (Monroe-Woodbury) 3-2 2 OT
145: A.J. Kovacs (Iona Prep) d. Tommy Askey (Pine Bush) 8-5
152: Joey McGinty (Monroe-Woodbury) d. Ty Raines (Churchville-Chili) 10-9
220: Will Leonard (Cornwall) d. Emre Mabocoglu (Midwood-PSAL) 4-2 ultimate tiebreaker
285: Collin Burns (Hilton-5) pin Adam Fenner (Minisink Valley) 3:25; Colton Crane (Gates Chili-5) pin Preston Havison (Monroe-Woodbury) 5:39

Round of 16
99 pounds: No. 5 seed Andrew Marchese (Washingtonville, 28-4) tech fall Chris Crawford (Beacon-1) 15-0, 5:37
106: No. 3 Zack Ryder (Minisink Valley, 41-4) pin Carson Alberti (Depew-Cleveland Hill-6) 5:07; Kwesi Amoa (Central Islip-11) d. No. 7 Justin Morales (Middletown) 5-2
113: No. 6 Jacob Chenier (Kingston, 36-3) d. Alex Booth (Indian River-3) 6-4
120: No. 8 Nick Picariello (Minisink Valley, 38-5) d. Michael Snowden (Niagara Falls-6) 6-5; No. 3 Marco Vespa (Monroe-Woodbury, 40-1)  pin Wilver Mariano Peral (Mott Haven-PSAL) 1:22
126: No. 4 Tyler Kellison (Jamesville-Dewitt-3) pin Jordan Suarez (Minisink Valley) 1:43
132: No. 1 Justin McDougald (Niagara Wheatfield-6) pin Tom Maddox (Washingtonville) 5:22
138: No. 3 Tyler Albis (John Jay-East Fishkill-1, 42-5) pin Sean Savacool (Minisink Valley) 3:35
145: No. 5 Tommy Askey (Pine Bush, 39-4) d. Jake Breyer (North Rockland-1) 10-5
152: Joey McGinty (Monroe-Woodbury, 40-2) pin No. 5 Joe Simons (Farmingdale-8) 4:27
160:  Colden Dorfman (Shenendehowa-2) pin No. 4 Steve Gazzillo (Cornwall) 5:00
170: No. 3 Josh Thibeault (Niagara Wheatfield-6) d. Matt Bucci (Saugerties) 7-2
182: Ryan Damboise (Livonia Wayland Cohocton-5) d. No. 7 Tyler Serafini (Newburgh Free Academy) 3-1
195:  No. 3 Matt Kelly (Iona Prep-CHSAA) d. Sam Santander (Monroe-Woodbury) 17-10
220: No. 1 Will Leonard (Cornwall, 39-0) d. Nolan Thomas (St. Francis-CHSAA) 4-2;  Zach Finn (Harrison-1) pin No. 3 Maxx DeCapua (Newburgh Free Academy) 5:19
285: No. 3 Adam Fenner (Minisink Valley, 35-4) d. Jeremiah Cheatham (Elmira-4) 8-3; No. 4 Preston Havison (Monroe-Woodbury, 32-6) d. Justin Anderson (Springfield Gardens-PSAL) 7-3

145: Karamvir Hothi (Rush Henrietta-6) pin Nick Albornoz (Minisink Valley) 3:05

Division II
132: Matt Malheiro (Highland) d. Mike O’Brien (Mount Sinai-11) 1-0.
138: John Worthing (Tioga-4) d. Nick Ross (Onteora) 13-2
220: James Oosterom (Port Jervis) pin Alex Thompson (Shelbrune-Earlville) 1:31.

Round of 16

99 pounds: No. 3 Andy Lucinski (Newfane-6) pin Trevor Tufano (Port Jervis) 1:49
113: Rick Delia (Port Jefferson-11) d. No. 6 Matt Morris (Red Hook) 12-1
120: No. 3 Matt Garland (South Jefferson-Sandy Creek) d. Liam Bullock (Chester) 12-3
126: No. 4 Marek Bush (Central Valley Academy-3) d. Eric Tigue (Port Jervis) 7-2
132: No. 6 Matt Malheiro (Highland, 37-8) d. Malachi Porter (Eagle Academy-PSAL) 8-1
138: Nick Ross (Onteora, 44-3) d. No. 7 Greg Hotaling (Cobleskill-Richmondville-2) 6-5
145: Malachy Farrell (Avon-Geneseo-5, 38-2) d. No. 7 Nick Curreri (Eldred) 11-5
152: Logan Duers (Hadley Luzerne-Lake George-2) d. No. 5 Nate Ross (Onteora) 10-8
160: No. 3 Jack Chesman (Pearl River-1) pin Bryce Horner (Port Jervis) 1:56
170: Tyler Tupper (Gouverneur-10) pin Cesar Santiago (Liberty) 4:42
195:  No. 3 Nolan McNeill (Warrensburg-Bolton-2, 23-2) pin James DeAveiro (Sullivan West) 3:47
220: No. 3 James Oosterom (Port Jervis, 21-1) d. Sterling Spoon (Watervliet-2) 12-9

106: Nicholas Noto (Honeoye Falls-Lima-5) d. Peter Bender (Highland) 8-0
120: Liam Bullock (Chester) pin Joe Ferrera (Petrides-PSAL) 4:25
170: Cesar Santiago (Liberty, 23-8) d. Aidan Shepardson (Dalton School-AIS) 7-3
182:  Pat Quinn (Seaford-8) d. Drew Bendy (Liberty) 11-8
285: Ben Szymanowski (Chautauqua Lake-6) pin Jason Lonstein (Ellenville) 5:13

This entry was posted in Wrestling. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives