All-State Football: Port Jervis WR Rob Filancia, Chester’s Joe Battiato, Kevin Stein earn first-team honors

Rob Filancia and Port Jervis authored one of best turnarounds in recent Section 9 football history this fall.

Port Jervis improved from two wins in 2018 to nine wins and only play away from the state Class B final in 2019. And, Filancia played an important role in the team’s success.

Filancia was honored Wednesday as a member of the state Class B first team after setting school records for receptions (64), receiving yards (1,096) and receiving touchdowns (13). One of the section’s most improved players, Filancia flourished first-year coach Damien Striharsky’s new offensive system, making a school-record 11 catches against Liberty this season. He caught 13 passes for 205 yards and a touchdown as a junior.

Chester’s senior quarterback-receiver combination of Joe Battiato and Kevin Stein were named to the state Class C first team.

Battiato led Section 9 with 2,314 passing yards and 23 touchdowns. Stein caught 55 passes for 859 yards and eight touchdowns.

Filancia’s teammates, junior safety Elijah Shearn and junior linebacker Ryan Costello were named to the Class B second and third team defense respectively.

Marlboro junior tackle Shawn Evans made the Class B second team. Teammates CJ Faircloth, a senior linebacker, and Freddie Callo, a senior punter, were fourth-team picks.

Liberty senior defensive Kymanni Dennis was named to Class B third team. Burke Catholic senior running back/receiver Brendan Tierney was a Class B fourth-team selection while teammate Ryan Manna, a junior kicker, made the fifth team.

Marlboro senior quarterback Christian Diorio and Port Jervis junior defensive lineman Tishawn Featherstone were honorable-mention picks.

Chester senior wide receiver Jacob Delgado made the Class C second team. Teammate Alex Buchanan, a junior receiver, was a third-team selection. Chester sophomore running back Jacob Angeles and senior linebacker Bryan Detweiler were honorable mention.

Ellenville senior quarterback Sean Pettway, Tri-Valley junior quarterback Keegan Streimer, Tri-Valley senior lineman Devin Mullen and Fallsburg linebacker Jesse Acevedo made the Eight-Man first team.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives