2020 Section 9 Division I final results: Askey MOW, Minisink Valley 7 champs

Minisink Valley crowned seven Section 9 champions including first-year varsity wrestler JC Cabrera at the Division I championships.

Nick Picariello (120), Zack Ryder (126), Jordan Suarez (132), Sean Savacool (138) and Adam Fenner (285) captured their second straight titles for Minisink Valley.

Pine Bush senior Tommy Askey continued his undefeated season, winning his second consecutive title and earning most outstanding wrestler honors.

New Paltz junior 145-pounder Ethan Palanca became the first wrestler to win both a Division I and Division II championship.

Washingtonville sophomore Andrew Marchese (113) and Monroe-Woodbury senior Joey McGinty (160) won their second consecutive titles. Middletown senior Justin Morales (106) returned to the top of podium after winning a section title as a sophomore.

Monroe-Woodbury freshman Jordan Brown (99), Middletown senior Joe Velasquez (170), Minisink Valley freshman Ethan Gallo (182) and Middletown’s Brian Giacchi (195) won their first titles.

Section 9 Division I championships
(at Monroe-Woodbury HS, Central Valley)
Team scores:
Minisink Valley 369; Monroe-Woodbury 217.5; Middletown
217; Newburgh Free Academy 179.5; New Paltz 110.5; Kingston 94;
Warwick 93; Washingtonville 91; Pine Bush 82; Valley Central 80.5;
Cornwall 44; Wallkill 44; Goshen 29.5; Monticello 8; Roosevelt 0

99 pounds: Jordan Brown (Monroe-Woodbury) d. Alex Greco (Warwick) 3-0
106: Justin Morales (Middletown) pin Jackson Merli (Newburgh Free
Academy) 3:28
113: Andrew Marchese (Washingtonville) d. Jaden Hansen (Newburgh Free Academy) 7-0
120: Nick Picariello (Minisink Valley) d. Santos Ocasio (Monroe-Woodbury) 2-1 2 OT
126: Zack Ryder (Minisink Valley) pin Moises Diaz (Middletown) :44
132: Jordan Suarez (Minisink Valley) d. Matt Romano (Valley Central) 7-2
138: Sean Savacool (Minisink Valley) d. Brian Lombardi (Minisink Valley) 4-3
145: Ethan Palanca (New Paltz) d. Gabe Galarza (Pine Bush) 5-4, ultimate
152: Tommy Askey (Pine Bush) d. Andrew Filip (Minisink Valley) 15-6
160: Joey McGinty (Monroe-Woodbury) pin Jace Hirsch (Minisink Valley) 4:37
170: Joe Velasquez (Middletown) d. Marcus Brown (Monroe-Woodbury) 8-3
182: Ethan Gallo (Minisink Valley) pin Darwin Banegas (Newburgh Free Academy) 2:25
195: Brian Giacchi (Middletown) d. Joe Russell (Newburgh Free Academy) 2-1 2 OT
220: JC Cabrera (Minisink Valley) d. Armel Duke (Middletown) 9-4
285: Adam Fenner (Minisink Valley) pin Stephan Monchery (Middletown) 1:33

Third-place consolations
99 pounds: Mason Ketcham (Washingtonville) pin Rocco Futia (Wallkill) 2:02; 106: Zack McKernan (Minisink Valley) pin Sebastian Vidacovich (Valley Central) 4:11; 113: Gabe Giumarra (Cornwall) d. Nico Ricciuto (Valley Central) 1-0; 120: Jake Chenier (Kingston) pin Jayden Norris (Middletown) 1:48; 126: Drew Greco (Warwick) d. Mia Macaluso (Minisink Valley) 9-2; 132: Josh Sam (Middletown) d. Travis Phillips (Valley Central) 5-1; 138: Dan Downs (Monroe-Woodbury) d. Liam Eberlein (Warwick) 13-9; 145: Jaccob Gonzalez (Minisink Valley) d. Aidan Cuppett (New Paltz) 8-4; 152: Mike Zrelak (Monroe-Woodbury) d. Myles Gordon (Kingston) 6-5; 160: Evan Gibbons (Warwick) d. Luis Paulino (Monroe-Woodbury) 5-3; 170: Max Wernicki (Monroe-Woodbury) d. Nick Patterson (Newburgh Free Academy) 5-0; 182: Logan Michael (New Paltz) d. Jeremy Mazzella (Warwick) 5-2; 195: Zavier Bennet (Kingston) pin David Burgoa (Newburgh Free Academy) 2:41; 220: Maxx DeCapua (Newburgh Free Academy) d. Carson Henry (Minisink Valley) 8-2; 285: Frank Hernandez (Monroe-Woodbury) pin Fredy Garcia (Washingtonville) 4:54

Fifth-place consolations
99 pounds: Marco Giumarra (Cornwall) d. Anthony Tresch (Minisink Valley) 3-2; 106: Cole Cuppett (New Paltz) pin Jacob Roger (Middletown) 3:54; 113: Tyler Reed (Cornwall) d. Luke Greiner (Minisink Valley) 4-2; 120: Austin Maddox (Washingtonville) pin Matt Davis (Wallkill) 2:03; 126: Steve Armendariz (Newburgh Free Academy) d. Joe Ferro (Kingston) 5-0; 132: Braydon Pennell (Pine Bush) d. Eli Weinstein (Goshen) 10-6; 138: Christian Francisco Agostin (Kingston) d. Mitchell Gibson (New Paltz) 6-4; 145: Dylan Burgos (Pine Bush) pin Gavin Richter (Kingston) 2:01; 152: Joe Ponesse (Newburgh Free Academy) won by injury over Levi Wyns (New Paltz); 160: Anthony Manzi (Newburgh Free Academy) pin Bryson Tibbs (Middletown) 2:40; 170: Chris McLaughlin (Minisink Valley) pin Ioannis Karystinakis (Goshen) 1:56; 182: Steve Felice (Monroe-Woodbury) d. Jakoy Harvey (Middletown) 4-2; 195: Ed Wilkins (Pine Bush) won by injury default over Scotty Geysen (Minisink Valley); 220: Stephon Holmes (Kingston) pin Tyrell Augustus (Wallkill) 3:36; 285: Evan Jansen (New Paltz) d. Alex Nguyen (Newburgh Free Academy) 6-5

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives