2020 State Wrestling Semifinal Results: Fab Four

Minisink Valley eighth-grader Zack Ryder is headed to the state finals for the second straight year.

Ryder knocked off top-seeded Ivan Garcia of Port Chester 10-7, scoring five points on a throw and three points with a cradle.

Pine Bush senior Tommy Askey became the school’s first state finalist since three-time champion Troy Bouzakis in 1990. Askey was in full control against Brentwood’s Wenchard Pierre Louis in 12-2 win.

Monroe-Woodbury senior Joey McGinty advanced to his first state final with a 3-0 win over Fulton’s Camrin Galvin. McGinty had defeated Galvin earlier in the season.

Onteora junior Nick Ross defeated Saranac’s Bryce Smith to advance to the state Division II 152-pound final as a No. 7 seed. Ross avenged a loss to Smith at the Eastern States Classic.

State championships
Division I

99 pounds: PJ Duke (Carmel) pin Jordan Brown (Monroe-Woodbury) 1:46; 106: Elijah Rivera (Bay Shore) d. Justin Morales (Middletown) 4-2; 126: Zack Ryder (Minisink Valley) d. Ivan Garcia (Port Chester) 10-7; 152: Tommy Askey (Pine Bush) d. Wenchard Pierre Louis (Brentwood) 12-2; 160: Joey McGinty (Monroe-Woodbury) d. Camrin Galvin (Fulton) 3-2; 170: Tyler Albis (John Jay-East Fishkill) pin Joseph Velazquez (Middletown) 1:11; 182: Brock Delsignore (Shenendehowa) d. Ethan Gallo (Minisink Valley) 10-1.

Division II
152 pounds: Nick Ross (Onteora) d. Bryce Smith (Saranac) 3-2.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives