NCAA TV Selection Sunday, a game for TV columnists

Now that the NCAA tournament selections have been made, it’s time to speculate what games will be made available to our local television audience — this is a little game we TV writers like to play.
These are the games I expect WCBS-2 in New York will air on Thursday and Friday.
Start with Florida-Brigham Young at 12:20 p.m., but we’ll likely be switched to Villanova-Robert Morris at 12:30. The second game is a real toss-up, so I will lean to Kansas State-North Texas at about 2:45 p.m. The Butler-Texas El Paso game will be aired on CBS College Sports shortly before 5 p.m.
On Thursday evening, my hope is we get Kentucky-East Tennessee State at 7:15, but my guess is we’ll get Georgetown-Ohio instead at 7:25. Frankly, the best game would be Marquette-Washington at 7:20. The second game will be Kansas-Lehigh at about 9:35, although I would expect the Jayhawks will run away with it so we should see plenty of Texas-Wake Forest.
On Friday afternoon, we’ll start with West Virginia-Morgan State at 12:15 and should stay with it, although there is appeal to Temple-Cornell at 12:30, especially with CBS’ top announce team of Jim Nantz and Clark Kellogg on hand. The second game will likely be Pittsburgh-Oakland at about 2:50 p.m., though Clemson-Missouri would be fun to watch, and Purdue-Siena has local Metro Atlantic appeal. The Texas A&M-Utah State game at 5 p.m. will air on CBS College Sports.
On Friday evening, we’ll start with Gonzaga-Florida State at 7:10 but expect to see Duke against Winthrop or Arkansas-Pine Bluff at 7:25 — frankly, I’d rather see Oklahoma State-Georgia Tech or Michigan State-New Mexico State. The second telecast will be Syracuse-Vermont at 9:35, but if the Orange run away we may see more of California-Louisville and Maryland-Houston.

Here are the CBS announcer lineups for the eight regional sites:
Oklahoma City – Kevin Harland/Dan Bonner (Florida-BYU, Kansas State-North Texas, UNLV-Northern Iowa, Kansas-Lehigh)
New Orleans – Dick Enberg/Jay Bilas (Notre Dame-Old Dominion, Baylor-Sam Houston, Kentucky-East Tennessee State, Texas-Wake Forest)
Providence – Verne Lundquist/Bill Raftery (Villanova-Robert Morris, Richmond-Saint Mary’s, Georgetown-Ohio, Tennessee-San Diego State)
San Jose – Spero Dedes/Bob Wenzel (Vanderbilt-Murray State, Butler-UTEP, Marquette-Washington, New Mexico-Montana)
Buffalo – Gus Johnson/Len Elmore (West Virginia-Morgan State, Clemson-Missouri, Gonzaga-Florida State, Syracuse-Vermont)
Milwaukee – Ian Eagle/Jim Spanarkel (Xavier-Minnesota, Pittsburgh-Oakland, Oklahoma State-Georgia Tech, Ohio State-Cal Santa Barbara)
Jacksonville – Jim Nantz/Clark Kellogg (Temple-Cornell, Wisconsin-Wofford, Duke-Winthrop/Ark. Pine Bluff, California-Louisville)
Spokane – Tim Brando/Mike Gminski (Purdue-Siena, Texas A&M-Utah State, Michigan State-New Mexico State, Maryland-Houston)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Ken McMillan

    Sports editor Ken McMillan has been covering sports since he got his first writing job in 1979. He has covered Section 9 athletics for the past 35 years. He reports on local college and high school. He also writes on TV/radio sports news, having ... Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives