NHL second round gets underway right away

There are still plenty of tears falling in the District of Columbia with the Capitals’ collapse against the Canadiens, but there’s no time to wallow for the rest of hockey fans. The NHL has announced the second round of the playoffs will get underway on Thursday evening, when Detroit visits San Jose.
Passionate hockey fans are probably going to get upset with the scheduling, which bottles up with simultaneous games on two nights next week, and twice more the following week with potential series clinchers — that is the problem when there’s only one network (Versus) carrying the games, and the NHL Network won’t be used to air conflicts.
Thursday, April 29: Detroit-San Jose (1), 9 p.m. (Versus)
Friday, April 30: Montreal-Pittsburgh (1), 7 p.m. (Versus)
Saturday, May 1: Philadelphia-Boston (1), 12:30 p.m. (WNBC-4); Vancouver-Chicago (1), 8 p.m. (Versus)
Sunday, May 2: Montreal-Pittsburgh (2), 2 p.m. (WNBC-4); Detroit-San Jose (2), 8 p.m. (Versus)
Monday, May 3: Philadelphia-Boston (2), 7 p.m. (Versus); Vancouver-Chicago (2), 9 p.m. (Versus)
Tuesday, May 4: Pittsburgh-Montreal (3), 7 p.m. (Versus); San Jose-Detroit (3), 7:30 p.m. (Versus)
Wednesday, May 5: Boston-Philadelphia (3), 7 p.m. (Versus); Chicago-Vancouver (3), 9:30 p.m. (Versus)
Thursday, May 6: Pittsburgh-Montreal (4), 7 p.m. (Versus); San Jose-Detroit (4), 7:30 p.m. (Versus)
Friday, May 7: Boston-Philadelphia (4), 7 p.m. (Versus); Chicago-Vancouver (4), 9:30 p.m. (Versus)
Saturday, May 8: Montreal-Pittsburgh (5), 7 p.m. (Versus); Detroit-San Jose (5), 10:30 p.m. (Versus)
Sunday, May 9: Vancouver-Chicago (5), 8 p.m. (Versus)
Monday, May 10: Pittsburgh-Montreal (6), 7 p.m. (Versus); Philadelphia-Boston (5), 7 p.m. (Versus); San Jose-Detroit (6), 7:30 p.m. (Versus)
Tuesday, May 11: Chicago-Vancouver (6), 9:30 p.m. (Versus)
Wednesday, May 12: Montreal-Pittsburgh (7), TBD (Versus); Boston-Philadelphia (6), TBD (Versus); Detroit-San Jose (7), TBD (Versus)
Thursday, May 13: Vancouver-Chicago (7), 8 p.m. (Versus)
Friday, May 14: Philadelphia-Boston (7), 7 p.m. (Versus)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Ken McMillan

    Ken McMillan has been covering sports since he got his first writing job in 1979. He has covered Section 9 athletics for most of the past 28 years. He reports on college sports, including Army and Marist College. He also writes on TV/radio sports ... Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives