NBC Sports Network to air World Hockey Championships

In the middle of the NHL playoffs, NBC Sports Network will add to its hockey programming with the IIHF men’s World Championships from Helsinki, Finland, and Stockholm, Sweden.
The cable network will air seven Team USA preliminary round games, all four quarterfinal matchups, one semifinal and the gold-medal game on May 20.
NBC will produce pre-game, intermission and post-game shows. No details were provided on the announcers, or whether NBC might pick up a Canadian television feed.
The schedule:
Friday, May 4 — USA vs. France, 5 a.m.; Saturday, May 5 — USA vs. Canada, tape delay at 10:30 p.m.; Monday, May 7 — USA vs. Slovakia, 1 p.m.; Thursday, May 10 — USA vs. Belarus, 9 a.m.; Friday, May 11 — USA vs. Kazakhstan, 9 a.m.; Sunday, May 13 — USA vs. Finland, 9 a.m.; Tuesday, May 15 — USA vs. Switzerland, 1 p.m.; Thursday; May 17 — Quarterfinals at 6 a.m., 8:30 a.m., 11 a.m. and 2 p.m.; Saturday, May 19 — Semifinal, time TBD; Sunday, May 20 — Gold-medal game, tape delay at 9 p.m.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Ken McMillan

    Ken McMillan has been covering sports since he got his first writing job in 1979. He has covered Section 9 athletics for most of the past 28 years. He reports on college sports, including Army and Marist College. He also writes on TV/radio sports ... Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives