Major League Soccer playoffs set to begin Wednesday

The Major League Soccer playoffs get underway on Wednesday with the first of two single-match “knockout” contests. The conference semifinals will get underway on the weekend with the start of two-match aggregate score series. If the total score is tied after the second match, two 15-minute periods will be played to entirety, with penalty kicks, if necessary, to follow.

Wednesday, Oct. 31
Houston at Chicago, 9 p.m. (ESPN2, ESPN Deportes)
Thursday, Nov. 1
Vancouver at Los Angeles, 10:30 p.m. (NBC Sports Net, Univision)

Friday, Nov. 2
West leg 1: Salt Lake at Seattle, 10 p.m. (NBC Sports Net)
Saturday, Nov. 3
East leg 1: D.C United at New York Red Bulls, 8 p.m. (NBC Sports Net)
Sunday, Nov. 4
East leg 1: Kansas City at Houston-Chicago winner, 3:30 p.m. (NBC)
West leg 1: San Jose at Vancouver-Los Angeles winner, time TBD (TV TBD)
Wednesday, Nov. 7
East leg 2: New York Red Bulls at D.C. United, 8 p.m. (NBC Sports Net)
East leg 2: Houston-Chicago winner at Kansas City, 9 p.m. (MLS Live subscription)
West leg 2: Vancouver-Los Angeles winner at San Jose, time TBD (TV TBD)
Thursday, Nov. 8
West leg 2: Seattle-Salt Lake, 9:30 p.m. (TV TBD)

Saturday, Nov. 10
East leg 1: Higher seed at lower seed, time TBD (NBC)
Sunday, Nov. 11, or Monday, Nov. 12
West leg 1: Higher seed at lower seed, time TBD (TV TBD)
Saturday, Nov. 17, or Sunday, Nov. 18
East leg 2: Lower seed at higher seed, time TBD (TV TBD)
West leg 2: Lower seed at higher seed, time TBD (TV TBD)

Saturday, Dec. 1
MLS Cup: Semifinal winners, 4:30 p.m. (ESPN, Telefutura)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Ken McMillan

    Ken McMillan has been covering sports since he got his first writing job in 1979. He has covered Section 9 athletics for most of the past 28 years. He reports on college sports, including Army and Marist College. He also writes on TV/radio sports ... Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives