Rodriguez Sullivan Award semifinalist

Army senior linebacker Andrew Rodriguez could be adding another prestigious honor to his resume.

Rodriguez, who won the Campbell Trophy (academic Heisman) in December, is one of nine semifinalists for the Sullivan Award, given to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the United States.

He is the only college football player on the list. The other semifinalists are: Betsey Armstrong (water pol0); David Boudia (diving); Jillian Camarena-Williams (shot put); Kaliya Johnson (ice hockey); Alex Jupite(volleyball); Jason Read (rowing); Katherine Reutter (speed skating) and Jordyn Wieber (gymnastics).

Rodriguez had a 4.14 grade-point average and is ranked third in West Point’s Class of 2012. He took an amazing 24 credits in the fall and made 59 tackles playing linebacker and defensive end.

Only four college football players have won the award since the trophy was first presented in 1930 Tim Tebow is the last college football player to win the award in 1997. Army fullback Felix “Doc” Blanchard (1945), Army quarterback Y. Arnold Tucker (1946) and Peyton Manning (1997) have also won the award.

Other Sullivan Award winners include Bill Bradley (basketball, 1966), Middletown, N.Y native Frank Shorter (distance running, 1972), Carl Lewis (track & field, 1981), Peyton Manning (1997), Rulon Gardner (wrestling, 2000), Michael Phelps (swimming, 2003).

Fans can vote for A-Rod here.

For more on Army football, follow me on Twitter @salinterdonato


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Categories

  • Archives