Fewest wins by Commander in Chief’s Trophy winner

If Army defeats Navy Saturday in Philadelphia, the Black Knights will set Commander in Chief’s Trophy history, of sorts.

Army (2-9) would have the fewest wins of any CIC winner.

Four teams, which claimed the CIC trophy, ended their seasons with four wins. They are the 1973 (4-7), 1974 (4-7) and 1976 (4-7) Navy teams and the 1993 Air Force (4-8) team.

Army would be only the second team in the 41 years of the CIC trophy to win both legs and finish with a sub-.500 record. The 1973 Navy team defeated Air Force 42-6 and Army 51-0.

Navy’s 1974 and 1976 teams and Air Force’s 1993 team all retained the trophy by splitting the round robin.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Sal Interdonato

    Award-winning writer Sal Interdonato has been on the Army football beat since 2007. He'll take you inside the huddle and into the lives of the Black Knights. Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives