2018 Army Football Banquet wrap

Quarterback Ahmad Bradshaw was named the most valuable player of the Army-Navy game and Armed Forces Bowl last month.

Bradshaw collected his third MVP award as his teammates voted their co-captain Army’s best player for the 2017 season at a season-ending banquet at Eisenhower Hall. The Chicago native set a single-season, service-academy record, rushing for 1,746 yards and helped the Black Knights to a 10-3 record.

“I can’t really describe what it means to be honored by my teammates,” Bradshaw said after the banquet. “I’m not one to care about awards. I care more about team accomplishments. But, it is an honor to recognized by my teammates.”

When asked if there’s a chance from him to return next season, Bradshaw, who has played three years at the academy, said, “We don’t know. It’s up in the air. We’ll see.”

Senior defensive end and co-captain John Voit received the Black Lion Award, given to the player that best displays the characters of former Army football player Don Holleder.

“It’s just really humbling and it’s an honor,” Voit said. “Once you walk in the locker room, the (Black Lion) plaque is on the wall and you see players going back to the 1970s. It’s just truly humbling.”

Senior tackle Brett Toth, who played in the Shrine Game Saturday and was not in attendance for the banquet, earned the William C. Whitehead Memorial Award (senior with highest class standing) and Thomas West Hammond Memorial Award (best lineman). Josh Boylan, Bryce Holland and Mike Houghton accepted to Hammond Award on Toth’s behalf.

Boylan received the Garrison Davidson Award (senior with highest military grade) and the James B. Gillespie Award (player who displays outstanding dedication and unfailing performance).

Senior linebacker Scott Washle was emotional in his acceptance speech for the Chase Prasnicki Memorial Award, which is given to the player who embodies characteristics of the former Army defensive back who was killed in action on June 2012. Washle also earned the Lifter of the Year Award.

Senior wide receiver Jeff Ejekam and senior safety Rhyan England received the Anthony Miller Coaching Staff Award (most inspirational player) for offense and defense respectively.

Freshman slotback Zack Boobas and sophomore linebacker Joe Ryan earned the Joel B. “Dopey” Stephens Memorial Award as the team’s best scout-team players.

Coach Jeff Monken honored 14 senior players, senior student coaches, equipment and video staff before the individual awards.

Nine freshmen lettered: LB Gavin Bassett, CB Javhari Bourdeau, RB Fred Cooper, WR Cam Harrison, RB Artice Hobbs, LB Aaron Jones, LS Kyle O’Connor, C Peyton Reeder, S Justin Thomas

Senior wide receiver Jermaine Adams and Boylan tied for the team lead in Ranger jerseys (extraordinary effort in games) with 11. Bradshaw, Houghton, senior linebacker Alex Aukerman and junior fullback Darnell Woolfolk tied for second with 10. Woolfolk received a Ranger jersey in all 10 games that he played.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form.
  • Blog Author

    Sal Interdonato

    Award-winning writer Sal Interdonato has been on the Army football beat since 2007. He'll take you inside the huddle and into the lives of the Black Knights. Read Full
  • Categories

  • Archives